Interview – Ann Evans

I have taken to referring to Ann as the uber successful member of the Coventry Writers Group. This is not a title without justification. Successful novelist, contributor of numerous articles to magazines and runner of numerous writing courses. In fact it was one such course, though a home based one, that led to her first published piece which earned her a wholesome £1.50. Since then Ann has gone onto craft numerous children books, tour schools and carve herself a fairly prolific writing career.

Ann was kind enough to set aside some time for the CWG newsletter for a quick interview.

I rather embarrassingly not read one of your books, an oversight I intend to correct. Which of your novels would you ideally direct me or anyone else to start?

I would definitely suggest you or anyone over the age of nine should read The Beast, then The Reawakening and then Rampage. Although they were written with children in mind, adults seem to enjoy them too.

It has been said that we are living in the X Box Generation and that kids no longer are interested in reading. How true is that?

I really feel that prior to the Harry Potter phenomena children had lost interest in reading books and playing computer games was the ‘in’ thing. But J K Rowlings’ books have really got kids back into libraries and bookshops. After reading the Harry Potter books, they then start
looking around for more interesting reads. These days a massive amount of school children are very much into their reading and devour books by their favourite authors avidly.
Judging by the many children I’ve spoken to especially in the 8 to 14 age range there’s a great deal of interest in reading, writing stories and the whole ‘author’ thing…. thank goodness!

Do you discover most of your stories while you write them, or do you know where it is going before you even begin typing?

I usually have a good idea in my head where my stories are going before I write them. I think you have to give a lot of thought beforehand if you’re not going to get hugely frustrated at not getting anywhere. However, I often sit down at a blank screen or notebook page and jot down random thoughts and ideas until something strikes a cord, but ideally I like to be able to see scenes in my head before I start to try and write them. It’s even better if I can vaguely sketch it out from beginning to end, as this really helps to progress through the story. Usually though it expands a whole lot more as I’m going.

Marmite? The evil food or something you would spread on your toast?

Marmite – yeuk!

(editors note….. I so totally agree!)

What would be your perfect writing environment? Where? Music? Time of day? Coffee? etc….

My perfect writing environment….. Outside on a warm (not hot) sunny day with no breeze, no flies or wasps, working on a computer (not a laptop) with the whole day to myself, a cup of tea at hand, a bag of crisps (brain food) and my favourite little cake – a pineapple tart for
later. However that has never happened. So, ideally in reality, is my computer in my bedroom, starting early morning with the day to myself, cup of tea, my dog Lola for company and ideas bursting to be written.

Yet a third option. When I was working at the Telegraph and got masses of writing done (because you had to)it was a busy, noisy office with people milling around able to see what you’re writing before you’d finished it, telephone going every half a minute and constant
interruptions. But it worked!

I am sure you have been asked many times who you like and influences you, but who has been your greatest disappointment. Since mine was the Catcher in the Rye (So disappointed), am going to coin the phrase “what was your Catcher in the Rye experience?

To be honest I don’t think I’ve a had a ‘Catcher in the Rye’ moment. I don’t have great expectations (good title there – wonder if anyone has thought of it!) of any particular authors. One of my favourite authors is Barbara Erskine and there was one of her books that had a
disappointing ending, but in general I will read anything that holds my attention. But I’m not one of those people who will persevere with a novel because it’s supposed to be brilliant if it doesn’t hold my attention within the first page or two it’s done with. (How shallow is
that!)

Any guilty pleasures we should know about?

Guilty pleasures. Yep, one or two, but none that you should know about! Okay the pineapple tart is one I can talk about. They are the most divine little cakes – better than chocolate!

Douglas Adams once said most writers would rather read the back of a cereal packet than sit down to write, would you echo that sentiment.

Absolutely! I can understand that sentiment totally. But maybe that’s a secret to success… It’s easier to read what’s already written, so you’ll also find that writers enjoy reading what they’ve already written and (me at least) will be more enthusiastic about sitting down and going over yesterday’s work and editing and polishing that, rather than creating some brand new words to move the story along.  So, while writers do get onto writing something new once they get going, they have also spent a lot of time going over what they’ve written – hence a well
polished piece of work at the end. Success!

….. So anything special you up to this summer?

This summer I should be spending time down in The Blackmore Vale, Dorset
where I’ll be running courses on writing for children. These master classes will cover everything you need to know to get started on writing for children as a hobby, or with the aim of getting published.

At the same venue on different dates, courses will also be taking place for lovers of romantic fiction. American author Nikki Poppen who writes under the name of Bronwen Scott for Harlequin Mills and Boon will be running courses for those interested in writing historical fiction.

Each course will run from Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon and from Monday afternoon to Wednesday afternoon. The £250 includes luncheon with wine, beer and soft drinks plus teas and coffee. Accommodation can be arranged nearby at just £25 per night. There are just six places available at each course, and the dates are as follows:

Writing for children with Ann Evans: Fri 13th Aug to Sun 15th Aug; Mon 16th Aug to Wed 18th Aug; Fri 20th Aug to Sun 22nd Aug; Mon 23rd Aug to Wed 25th Aug.

Historic Fiction with Bronwen Scott: Fri 27th Aug to Sun 29th Aug; Mon 30th Aug t0 Wed 1st Sept; Fri 3rd Sept to Sun 5th Sept; Mon 6th Sept to Wed 8th Sept.

For further details contact: Jan Curd on 01747 840 206 or 190, or send
an email to Jan at:

curd.teamwork@btinternet.com

Many thanks Ann.

By Chris Carter
(First published in June 2010 newsletter)

Leave a comment