april/may newsletter

Newsletter April and May

Contents

A word from me – Page 3

Minutes of April CWG meeting – Pages 4-5

Minutes of May CWG meeting – Pages 6-7

News – Pages 8 – 10

Sandra Shannon’s A Hair Raising Experience – Pages 10-13

Dear Coventry Writers Group Members

Before I devolve into a humiliating and grovelling apology for the rather obvious non emergence of the April Newsletter, I offer humble thanks for the enthusiasm for the first little effort. It was a joy to produce. I hope to continue to provide something that provides a little interest for the group.

Unexpectedly the month of May saw me unusually busy in both the professional and social area of my life. As such I kind of vanished and the April newsletter failed to emerge. I take full blame for this, but would also point out that I was also ill (A pathetic attempt to seek sympathy…. Cough.. cough… splutter). Anyways, moving swiftly on.

The April meeting of CWG saw the first workshop for the group performed by the uber successful Ann Evans. Ann gave an incredibly brilliant workshop on dialogue. Thoughts and ideas abounded, effectively displaying the usefulness of these workshops. Maxine has been hoarding away at the CWG finances for a while to enable us to invite other writers to perform workshops for the benefit of the group, I think all who attended can agree that Ann has set a very high bench mark and would offer a huge thank you.

The May meeting was unusually quiet on direct CWG issues, but was over dosed with success stories for much of the group. A big congratulations to Sheila (Rosalie Warren), Sandra Shannon, Chris Jarvis and Mike Boxwell (my personal favourite as he is going to be working with Robert Llewellyn of Red Dwarf/Scrapheap Challenge fame), all of which have major success inroads.

Take it easy all!!

Chris C

Minutes from CWG meeting
Tuesday 4th April 2010

1 ) Christine Rutherford Opened with a positive reaction to the new look Newsletter, although raising the issue of the length for sending to mail recipients. Chris C promised to be responsible for the printing and despatching of the Newsletter. Christine also suggested that it may be an idea for the Newsletter to be published online so future members may see what sort of things go on in the group.

2) Phil Brown agreed to aid Christine in the setting up of the CWG website. Administration of the website would then be owned by Christine. He also pointed out that we have an area on the Coventry and Warwickshire website.

2) Paul Garside raised the issue of copyright for any stories or articles that may be published online. Christine pointed out that many members write for pleasure only and as such copyright would not be an issue. Though there may be a possibility of having a logging in area of the website for CWG members only, which would circumvent any issue of copyright.

3) Phil Brown suggested that the website could be used by members to add unpublished works for review and actual mentoring.

4) Chris Carter asked about the difficulty and cost involved in the website. Phil remarked that the website would not be difficult to administer or too costly. He assumed the cost to be around £38 a year.

5) Christine Rutherford announced that the Bridport prize is now running and that the entry is £5.

6) Maxine Burns performed the raffle to raise CWG funds during a short break. New guy Paul won a small bottle of wine and Chris C won a cookery book.

5) Ann Evans reminded the group that she would be running a writers class in Nuneaton at Tysall Photography. It is an 8 week course and runs from either 12pm till 2pm during the day and 6.30pm to 8.30pm during the evening.

6) Maxine Burns has heard that Coventry local radio is running a competition in which four writers per month would have the opportunity to have their works performed on air.

7) Maxine Burns suggested that we look at promoting the group with a festival or a performance at the library. Also possibly approaching the local radio station as a group and asking for a segment. Maxine said she would investigate this possibility.

8) Ann Evans performed a workshop for the group on the subject of dialogue.

Conclusion

– Phil Brown to provide instruction to Christine to run the CWG website.
– Christine Rutherford to take administration ownership for the website.
– Maxine to investigate CWG promotion opportunities.

Minutes from CWG meeting
Tuesday 4th May 2010

1 ) Christine Rutherford Opened the meeting with Apologies from Chris Jarvis as he is currently rehearsing his role in Bouncers and Margaret Ergot who may not have the opportunity to attend for a month or two.

2) Phil Brown Announced the official CWG website address to be http://www.coventrywritersgroup.org. It was now up and running and would soon be able to display samples of peoples work. If anyone wishes to send a sample article, short story, etc, then please attach to an email and send to Phil.

3) Phil Brown brought the existence of http://www.meetup.com to the group. CWG is on this website, which caters for groups of people who are into likeminded things. He suggested that we could utilise this to help arrange upcoming events and plan variations to the

5) Sheila Glasbey notified the group of the Novels for Children or Teens (More details in news). Any book that gets past the first round will be read by a panel that includes some publishers. As such there is potential for even a novel that does not win a prize to be noted. (It is worth noting that one of the readers is a certain Rosalie Warren……Hmmmm)

6) Phil Brown has offered to put links on the CWG website to any of the groups own internet sites. If you are interested in having a link on your own website then please forward to Phil for inclusion.

Conclusions

– Any submissions for addition to the website can be forwarded to Christine
– If you wish your own website to be added as a link from the CWG website then send them to Christine or Phil.

Readings were then heard from –

– Sheila Glasbey read from Phil Brown’s book “The Time Crystal”.

Achievements

– Phil’s Internet published “The Time Crystal” has been nominated for the People’s Book Prize. Please find time to pop onto http://www.peoplesbookprize.co.uk and drop a vote on behalf of Phil.
– Mike Boxhall’s in a two week run down to filming a pilot for a TV show which he is to co-present. The series is being made by the same makers as Scrap Heap Challenge for BBC4. Also presenting is to be Robert Llewellyn, better known as Kryten from Red Dwarf.
– Sheila Glasbey has had large print editions of both Charity’s Child and Low Tide at Lunan Bay published.
– Chris Jarvis has had his short story published in the anthology “Adventures in Space and Time”.
– Sandra Shannon has her latest piece published in Sew Hip, a magazine on the funkier side of the fast reviving hobby of sewing.

The News

The Brit Writers Unpublished 2010

Its time to dust of the old Tux or to grab the sparkly cocktail dress out of storage for a top notch opportunity to mix with the great and the grand. For the girls it means swishing around in outstanding pearls and for the guys an opportunity to look in the mirror adjusting the bow tie dreaming of being James Bond. July the 15th is going to be the place to be for anyone with a taste for a glamorous event in the writing world, it’s the Brit Writers Unpublished Award 2010.

Over 21,000 aspiring and unpublished writers have submitted their scribbles to the competition for an opportunity to have their work published and brought to the attention to some of the most influential people in the business. There is also the trifling matter of £10,000 prize money, though most unpublished writers that I know would chew off their own arm for that publishing deal, the prize money only a secondary thought.

The event is being supported by some if the biggest names in the business with both Penguin and Harper Press supporting event. Media celebrities are lending their endorsements, such as the Sky News presenters Marverine Cole, Tim Teeman and uber successful Gruffalo writer Julia Donaldson. Politicians are also involved, with new media love and Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg giving his blessing. His partner in crime David Cameron has given his endorsement and some chap called Gordon Brown (who apparently used to live at some historic house in London or something) also voicing his words of encouragement.

The event is scheduled for Thursday July 15th at the O2 arena. For those with a taste for precision, it begins at 6.30pm. All this is fair enough, yet at time of me writing this, tickets are still available. In fact demand has been so great that an extra two hundred of these tickets have been made available. For a completely unpreposing £25 one may purchase a ticket for the balconies. Although this is a little on the outskirts and requires only formal wear it does demand that you bow to anyone in a tux, including the waiters. For those with little larger pockets there is the £60 option. This includes dinner at a table and a copy of the accompanying event magazine.

Four Days in Hebden Bridge

As a complete opposite to the bright lights of the big city and the glitz and glamour is the opportunity to spend some time in the beautiful West Yorkshire Town of Hebden Bridge. This glorious little town which boasts scenic beauty and reeking of old world charm also carries the reputation of the funkiest town in Europe.

The opportunity is to spend four nights at the luxurious Moyles Hotel for an exclusive opportunity to experience a morning’s tutelage with the renowned poet, Amanda Dalton.

Amanda Dalton has been nominated as one of Britain’s Top Ten Next generation of Poets and her poetry collection How to disappear was short listed for the Forward Prize. Each morning from 10am to 12.20pm Amanda will provide guidance sessions aimed at experienced poets wishing to hone their skills. Although these sessions are not compulsory, it provides a perfect start to a day of artistic adventure. On the last evening Amanda will be giving readings of her works.
A deposit of £100 is required to book the event and the full price ranges from £550 to £450 on single occupancy, but if you are going as two sharing you can pick up the bill for £325pp. Prices include breakfasts and dinner on two evenings. The event itself is dated from the 5th July to the 9th during the Hebden Bridge festival.

So if you fancy a bit of a mini break in glorious surroundings with a poetical twist, this could be the summer break for sparking off those artistic impulses.

Youwriteon

Bit of a curiosity this one and feel I may have to look at it in a little more depth, but first the Youwriteon News.

The website Youwriteon is a website promoting itself as aiding new writers. The Youwriteon website has been funded by Arts Council England in aid to promote and encourage new writers. The good news is that the top rated books on Youwriteon were now being read by the big hitting publishing houses Orion and Harper press. So far so dandy, sounds a great way to get your work recognised. Am going to keep this as brief as possible as I have not heard much to do with Youwriteon and am guessing that my fellow CWG members may very well have come into contact or have knowledge of the website. If so I should love to know what information you may have to convey regards the following.

On first checking Youwriteon you are informed that their top rated work is rated by both Orion House and Harper Press. In fact it suggests that after five reviews the work will be entered into their chart system and the highest rated would be reviewed and given free feedback from one of the editors for these two prestigious publishers. I would advise caution. In the first instance there does not seem to be any mention that this is a recent development. In fact it seems keen to suggest that this has been an ongoing relationship.

It would be easy to dismiss this as an innocent wording issue, yet there seems much reason to be cautious based on Youwriteon’s previous form. There have been one or two issues with promises they have made regards publishing and their relationship with Arts Council England. Youwriteon’s seems very keen to use their relationship with Art Council England to legitimise themselves and prod people in the direction of their vanity publishing arm. While this in itself is concerning it is also interesting to note that for those few that have been published by themselves, the amount they are taking as commission seems way above and beyond the usual.

As I am a recent member of the CWG I am aware that information regarding these past indiscretions could lead to some serious concerns with any dealings or feedback from them. I shall therefore do a little more digging for next months issue and also ask that anyone who may have some knowledge of Youwriteon contact me.

Sandra Shannon

Coventry girl and CWG member sent in this little gem for your amusement. I absolutely LOVED it. Sandra is a multiple published member of the group and continues to have short stories and articles published. She is currently working on her first book, which judging by this little piece, I will be the first in the queue to part with some of my cash to purchase. Enjoy.

A HAIR-RAISING EXPERIENCE!

‘Look ten years younger’, ‘Win a fabulous makeover’, ‘Lose ten pounds in six weeks’.

There seemed to be a constant barrage of messages telling me I could look better. I suppose it was inevitable that I would eventually succumb and admit that maybe I could make a few improvements here and there.

I began by asking my family and friends for suggestions, and not surprisingly they had plenty.

“Perhaps you could tone up a little,” said my partner, “I’ll work out an exercise program for you,” he added, helpfully.

“That’s a nice way of saying lose some weight,” I replied, eyeing up his expanding waistline.

“We could do it together,” he said, taking the hint.

My twin boys decided to join in with their own ideas. “Why don’t you dye your hair blonde,” said one, “and buy some shades,” added the other.

I had visions of Debbie Harry strutting across the stage singing Heart of Glass.

“I wouldn’t mind a change of hair colour,” I said, “but probably not blonde. Maybe some copper highlights or something to brighten it up a bit.”

“Actually,” I added enthusiastically, “I wouldn’t mind having long hair again; I suppose I could have hair extensions?”

“Yeah, cool,” the boy’s chorused, and my partner looked quite keen too.

I set out to explore the possibilities and booked myself in for a consultation. In the meantime I found a home colouring kit complete with DIY highlighting solution.

After reading the instructions I realised I was going to need help.

My partner volunteered and leapt into action, laying sheets of newspaper on the floor.

The first stage was applying a base colour, then the instructions said to carefully apply the white highlighting paste to small strands of hair to create stunning highlights.

The base colour stage went quite well but highlighting apparently, wasn’t quite as easy as the instructions would have you believe.

I could tell by the huffing and puffing and the beads of sweat running down my partner’s face that things weren’t going too well.

“I think I’m making you look like a racoon,” he suddenly announced.

“WHAT!” I shouted and dashed to a mirror.

Sure enough, as I twisted my neck to get a good look at the back of my head, all I could see were lots of white stripy markings that looked remarkably racoon-like.

My heart did a couple of back flips but I tried to keep calm, knowing deep down that I never did look good in a hat.

“Get me the thick pronged comb – quick,” I cried, and started to comb the highlight paste through in an attempt to put things right.

My partner made a rather hasty exit and waited for the end result, ready to bolt again if necessary.

At last I presented my shining head of hair.

“I think it looks quite good,” he said proudly, suddenly regaining his confidence.

I had to agree it did look better and the highlights had turned out to be quite subtle in the end, not a hint of animal markings to be seen.

The makeover seemed to be going quite well after all, so with renewed enthusiasm I headed to my hair consultation with visions of long flowing locks and sensuous curls.

Everything was explained to me in great length. I learnt how the hair would be attached to my own and how important after care is. A small sample of my hair was taken so they could match the colour exactly. It would be just the thing to complete my makeover.

“I’ll get some leaflets for you to take home,” the hairdresser said.

He returned moments later and handed me the brochure, “As you can see the hair is by Racoon.”

I felt my heartbeat quicken slightly.

“Sorry, did you say Racoon … as in the stripy mammal?”

After he’d calmed me down and assured me it was 100% human hair I decided to go ahead with the extensions and now proudly boast a glorious head of flowing locks.

It’s definitely transformed my image and I get plenty of compliments, which is great for my self-esteem. The only problem is I’m still not sure whether I should brush it or give it a saucer of milk!

END

Leave a comment